Chuck Cumberlin “Go Your Best” Award

Dean Gunter Crowned

2018 Colorado Auctioneer Champion

Dean Gunter of Colorado Springs, Colorado, was crowned the 2018 Colorado State Auctioneer Champion on Saturday, January 6, 2018, at the 60th Anniversary Colorado Auctioneers Association Annual Convention.  Competitors from all over Colorado  performed in front of an esteemed panel of judges including International and State Champion Auctioneers.

Fifteen  contestants vied for the coveted honor of winning the Chuck Cumberlin “Go Your Best” Traveling Trophy, a custom-designed championship belt buckle and a $1000 award to represent the Colorado Auctioneers Association at the 2018 International Auctioneer Championship (IAC) to be held in Jacksonville, FL of July 2018.

Growing up in a small logging town in Northwestern Washington State, I can remember my father taking me to estate auctions as a boy in Seattle.  I enjoyed the fast-paced excitement of auctioneering and bid-calling.  That enjoyment has never gone away, as I still think auctions are just as fun and as exciting as I did then.

When I entered the Marines just out of high school, I completed infantry training school and later, Basic Underwater Diving training with the Navy Seals.  Eventually, I received orders to Marine Corps Drill Instructor School where I was meritoriously promoted to the rank of Sergeant.  I learned some helpful skills in the Marine Corps that has served me well in the auction industry.  Leadership, focus and a “never quit” attitude are certainly essential for auctioneers.  As a Drill Instructor, we also called marching cadence, which is a skill, not unlike that of an auctioneer.   After my service in the Marine Corps, I started on the ground floor of the automotive industry, selling cars in Washington State.  I’ve been a car dealer in Colorado Springs, Colorado, for over 17 years, attending weekly auctions all over the country.  Over those years, I’ve become friends with a number of auctioneers and have always been fascinated by auctioneering.

After developing a friendship with Paul C. Behr, co-owner of World Wide College of Auctioneering. I attended and graduated from the September 2010 session held in Denver, Colorado.  In 2011, I won the Troil Welton Memorial Award for auctioneering at the Annual Colorado Auctioneers Association First Timers Competition.  I have studied and received my “Benefit Auctioneer Specialist” designation from the National Auctioneer’s Association.  Most of the auctions I perform are benefit related, helping to raise money for a variety of charities including the military, Friends of the NRA, the Colorado Independent Automobile Dealers Charity Fund and church benefit auctions.

I have consistently attended the Annual Colorado Convention and I have competed in the Colorado Auctioneer State Competition from 2012 to 2018.  This year, as in most years, we had an excellent group of competitors from all over the State of Colorado.  The state convention is always worth attending.  I learn something new every year and have developed many life-long friendships.

This year, I shared with the Colorado Auctioneer’s Association my passion for auctioneering and the importance of passing on to those who are entering the auctioneering profession.  So many others have helped me and I have a heart for helping others as I have been helped.  Being the 2018 Colorado State Auctioneer Champion is truly an honor, as I stand on the shoulders of all those who went before me.”

Dean Gunter
2018 Colorado State Auctioneer Champion


Each professional auctioneer who competed became a better auctioneer because of the contest and should be congratulated for taking part.  Their improvement and growth as auctioneers makes the association and the industry better for all.  Thank you to AuctionFlex for providing the auction clerking software and clerking the auction




“Thank you” to Brian Allmer and for providing LIVE video streaming and recording that can be found on his website.  We are extremely grateful for their service.



Colorado State Auctioneer Champions

2018                Dean Gunter, BAS

2017                Wes Lamb

2016                Josh Larson

2015                Doug Carpenter, CAI

2014                Scott Shuman, CAI

2013                Sean Allen

2012                Emily (Wears) Kroul, CAI

2011                Adam Kevil

2010                Rich Schur CAI, MPPA, BAS

2009                Steve Linnebur

2008                Shawn Hagler

2007                Mike Heitmann

2006                Kevin Holt

2005                Walt Partridge

2004                Everett Schneider

2003                David P. Whitley CAI, CES

2002                Josh White

2001                Brian Marshall

2000                Lloyd Michael, Jr.

1999                Scott Goodhue

1998                Dan McVey

1997                No Contestant

1996                Ken Holzworth

1995                James Higgins

1994                Brian Weitzel

1993                Steven W. Holt

1992                John L. Korrey

1991                Raymond R. Holt

1990                Sammy Hamblen

1989                Ron Miller

1988                Robert L. Johnson

1987                Randell N. Smith

1986                Larry Lusher

1985                Jack Salisbury

1984                Ted Odle

1983                Jack De Nooy

1982                Fritz Rundel

1981                Otha C. “Jr.” Mass

1980                Booth Brown

























Find Auctions
Find a CAA Auctioneer
Storage Auctions